Recommended implementation for THAT1512

Where we discuss new analog design ideas for Pro Audio and modern spins on vintage ones.
prhunt

Recommended implementation for THAT1512

Post by prhunt »

I'm a newb recordist and I am chasing un-coloured mic amplification for making stereo recordings of acoustic instruments and voice.

Reading through the fantastic "brains trust" that is this forum, I have become interested in building a mic preamp based on the THAT1512 and 1646 driver.

Reading through the several discussion threads here, I have seen a number circuit permutations for these devices.

Based on the collective knowledge from the last couple of years, I was hoping that a kind soul (eg Wayne K!) might post a "canonical" circuit incorporating: split supply rails, T-biasing, input and output servos, with the various tweaks that have proven useful.

Hope this isn't too much of an ask! Thanks in advance.

Paul H
mediatechnology

Re: Recommended implementation for THAT1512

Post by mediatechnology »

Hi Paul - Thanks for joining us here.

About the closest thing we have to a "complete" schematic is here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=339

bruno's implementation was before we came up with T-bias and before (we think) we figured out that the low gain offset could be injected into the servo's non-inverting input to eliminate one OA. The current thinking is not quite documented in the bruno2000 build but there's a lot to be gleaned from it. Sonically it would be identical.

The primary difference is T-bias. T-bias, for a given capacitor value and match, will improve LF CMR. To use T-bias, the servo output has to become differential and requires an inverter. Thus, the op amp we give back in the low gain trim improvement gets used to invert the servo. That's about the only improvement over the excellent bruno2000 build.